2022 Season Schedule

The Calcasieu Parish School Board Student Art Exhibit “Distortion by Design” will be on display until May 7th. This exhibit features works by k-12 students showcasing a variety of techniques illustrating distortion.

Exhibition Dates: April 6- June 26, 2022

A(lbert) Hays Town (1903-2005) is one of the most recognizable and beloved architects in Louisiana of the twentieth century. During his 70+ years of practice, he designed a wide range of structures such as educational, public, office, commercial buildings, and hundreds of private residences. This exhibit explores the historic sources and popular success of Town’s residential designs, which created recognizable images of a shared homeland.

Sponsored by Thomas Guy Interiors and Empire of the Seed

Yoga Under the Oak continues Saturday, May 7th and May 21st at 9 a.m. Join the yin yoga practice, focused primarily on conscious breathing in postures intended to relax the body and engage the mind. Please bring your own mat, light blanket, or go barefoot and dig your toes into the ground during our practice! Setup starts at 8:30 a.m. Complimentary coffee and tea are available before and after practice. This event is free and open to the public.

The Hall of Heroes features local military memorabilia including Claire Lee Chennault’s of the Flying Tigers uniform and his wife Anna Chennault’s wedding dress.

The Imperial Calcasieu Exhibit showcases our local history. Some of the antiques on display include the Wheel of the Borealis Rex Steamboat, an Ediphone and Phonography by Thomas Edison, and a tabletop Stereoscope by Alex Becker.

The Imperial Calcasieu Museum is home to the Historic Sallier Oak Tree.

The Historic Sallier Oak, registered with the Live Oak Society of the Louisiana Garden Club Federation, Inc., stands to the back right side of the Museum.

Historically the Oak holds its own mystery of origin. The tree experts approximate the age of the tree to be between 200 – 300 years old. It probably shaded the cajun style cabin which was build on this site by the Sallier family. The records show that this land was patented in 1860 by Katherine LeBleu Sallier.

The chains seen growing into the tree show the efforts of preservation after the hurricane of 1918 split the tree. The branches on the west side of the tree were destroyed by a storm in 1930. More recently, the Sallier Oak survived Hurricanes Laura and Delta of 2020.